Interview with Sarah

First of all, I apologise for being a day late with the Interview of the week!

Today we have an interview with Sarah!


What intersex condition do you have?

I have complete androgen insensitivity syndrome


How old were you when you found out?

I was 16, still in high school


How did it affect you at first?

At first not a lot because I was young and didn’t realise really how it would effect me in the long run


Does it affect you dating?

I would say It only effects dating if you are wanting a long term relationship, when I was first diagnosed I just had a few boyfriends here and there so it was never brought up, however now I’m in a long term relationship I had to tell my partner, I remember I used to fake having periods to buy me a little time before I got them (at the time I just thought I was a late bloomer & my menstrual cycle would come naturally) it doesn’t effect my partner just yet because we’re not thinking about children or anything however it is difficult at times and I can go through depressing days.


How does it affect you now?

It effects me now because my friends and family are settling down and having children and it upsets me the fact that I can never conceive a child, it upsets me even more the fact that I can’t conceive my partners child! It doesn’t effect me in a way that makes me feel like an outsider but since I’m not out about my condition I just feel like I’m keeping a secret from everyone.


What would you say is the best thing about having this condition?

The best part of having this condition is definitely not having periods… ew who’d want blood dripping from their vagina each month, yuck!!!


What would you say is the worst thing about having this condition?

The worst thing about this condition is definitely not being able to be open to the public with ease, if everyone in the world was as accepting as my family it would be perfect and I would be delighted to tell the world but at the end of the day I know not everyone’s like that and I know people will judge, it’s easier just to keep quiet about it, the only way people will know is if they saw my medical records.


Finally, what advice would you give to people who are newly diagnosed?

My advice would be don’t suffer alone and think you are the only one, reach out to us and join the Facebook group, that was the only thing that kept me going when I first found out, it was comfort and felt like I actually belonged in this world.


I am glad the group has helped you Sarah!! Thank you for taking part!!

Leave a Reply

