Interview with Susannah

Thank you Susannah, I have to be honest I don’t really know much about Fraiser’s Syndrome, so thank you very much for wanting to answer the questions and give people some insight into how you felt and what you have been though.


What intersex condition do you have?
Fraiser’s Syndrome (similar to Swyer’s Syndrome)


How old were you when you found out?
I was 15 (nearly 16). I had just finished chemotherapy for Ovarian Dysgerminoma (technically not ovaries but gonads)


How did it affect you at first?
I had a panic attack once I stepped outside of the hospital. I distracted myself and then pushed it out of my mind until a doctor yelled down the phone at me that I was boy and anyone who told me differently was lying. I developed severe depression and anxiety, then anorexia, which I have since recovered from.


Does it affect you dating?
It use to. I used to feel like I had to prove myself in relationships and be ‘the perfect woman’ (A funny, Victoria’s secret model, who never complains and is whip smart). Then I realised that it didn’t matter and I am worth no less than anyone else. However, once I came out (on my blog ChemoSabe) I felt free and, for the first time in years, like myself. I have dated multiple men now who know about my Intersex condition and don’t care.


How does it affect you now?
I am proud to be Intersex. Though it has caused me immense grief in the past, and still presents difficulties, I would not be myself, nor have qualities like empathy and generosity, without it. It makes me special and makes me feel powerful.


What would you say is the best thing about having this condition?
The best thing is what it has given me in terms of life experience that I can use to relate to, and if I’m lucky, help others. Sometimes I like to think it’s given me my long legs and clear skin, but who knows. I also like the theoretical idea, given the conversations about feminism, gender roles, and society, that I am a living embodiment of the reality that gender and sex binaries are complete garbage.


What would you say is the worst thing about having this condition?
It used to be the fear of rejection from society. Now it is probably just the HRT, which I’ve had trouble adjusting to in the past.


Finally, what advice would you give to people who are newly diagnosed?
I would say to believe the good in people. Those who are insensitive or cruel are ignorant, they are not worth your time. You are loveable, have tremendous worth, which can be realised if you accept yourself. You do not have to conform to anyone else’s idea of what you SHOULD be.


Thank you so much for taking part in my little series of interviews with different Intersex people! It helps so much when there are all these different accounts for people to read!

If anyone has any questions for Susannah or anyone else please just comment below and I will get a reply for you! If you want to be a part of anything please just let me know!

Leave a Reply

