Interview with myself

I feel as others are joining on my interviews I feel I should also fill it out!


What intersex condition do you have?

I have Complete Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome – CAIS


How old were you when you found out?

I was between 16 and 17, it was after college one day, at my local hospital.


How did it affect you at first?

When the doctor was telling me I didn’t really know how to react her head was kind of getting bigger and smaller the more I looked at her, I felt numb when I left and it took nearly a year for it to really hit me I think.


Does it affect you dating?

No not at all, if someone has an issue with it, that is their problem not mine, they do not deserve to have me!


How does it affect you now?

These days it doesn’t affect me much, every so often I have a random day I feel a bit sad but other than needing my HRT injections it doesn’t affect me too much!


What would you say is the best thing about having this condition?

Probably the no periods, no cramps, etc things like that!


What would you say is the worst thing about having this condition?

The HRT, the removal of the gonads, I miss my gonads ever singly day!


Finally, what advice would you give to people who are newly diagnosed?

If you are advised to have your gonads removed, please do lots and lots of research before you decide to have it done! It was the worst decision I have made having them removed and I know I am not alone in that! Talk to lots of people get all their opinions, just don’t act and have it done straight away!

Leave a Reply

